Ok Mr.Oliver, lets see what you got

14 Apr

I’ve always been a big time fan of Jamie Oliver, but I’ve always sort of been a little distant from the merchandising and ready-made product wagon that inevitably follows celebrity chefs. I mean, there’s so many of these ‘Chef’s Specials’ out there masquerading as secret ingredients and magic potions to transform your cooking into professional stuff, that one has to be really careful about which one to pick, and what the product is going to deliver.

Recently I picked this one up along with a pinch of salt. Its called  ‘Jamie Oliver’s Tomato and Basil Pasta Sauce’, under which is says ‘Honest Italian Flavours’.

At first look and taste, I was really impressed with the fact that I could see whole Basil leaves in the sauce. Also, it tasted fresh and like it had been made from proper tomatoes, minus the artifical colours and flavours. I decided to use it in my spaghetti with some vegetarian meatballs (I was still on my 9 day Veg challenge, remember?)

But when I began cooking, I realised there was a gap between my expectations and what the product delivered.  I guess I must’ve fallen for the whole ‘magic potion’ thing too, because I very quickly became disappointed that it did little beyond giving me the basic. To salvage the situation,

I added some garlic paste, some salt, pepper and a bit of oregano to make the whole thing a little more exciting. This was clearly not a product for someone who wanted to make 2-minute meals.

To be fair, it did retain its thick and natural consistency even after being simmered, and so was faithful to its promise of being honest.

All in all, I will say go ahead and try this. But I will also suggest that if you do, you may as well bring your own magic tricks to the table.

Leave a Reply

