Detox Vegetable Soup and Crunchy Mixed Salad

8 Apr

As I eat this very healthy detox soup and salad, I have a vision of myself sitting high up on a snow mountain in mediation. Haha. No, really, this is healthy food to the hilt, its what we in India call yogic,  “sattvic” food.

As the name suggests, this food is not meant to be ‘rajasic’ or stimulating to the taste bud. And believe me, I was really worried about who was going to eat all this soup and salad when it was made.

But happily, I was proved wrong. The soup was found to be “tasty” (my flatmates swore by it) and the salad was literally gone in minutes.

So first things first, the Crunchy Mixed Salad.

I got this recipe from my friend and ex-school mate Krittika. I made a few minor changes in the recipe, like adding seasonal four-leafs to it, but it is more or less the same as described in her version:

What you need:

A handful of cherry tomatoes
A handful of sprouts
One Red Bell Pepper
One Yellow Bell Pepper
Black Olives
Salt
Pepper
Lime Juice
Feta Cheese (Optional)

What to do:

Wash the cherry tomatoes and sprouts and put them into a bowl.
Cut the red and yellow bell peppers into two equal halves and remove the seeds.
Take one half of the red and yellow bell peppers and slice them into thin slivers and add them to the bowl. Take the two remaining halves of the bell peppers and roast them on the gas until they are lightly charred.
Once they are cool, wipe the charred area with some soft tissue and cut into slivers. Add into the bowl.
Add olives, salt and pepper to your liking. Add lime juice and sprinkle feta cheese into the bowl- gently mix the salad with your hands and serve immediately.
Sounds yummy right? Looks absolutely dashing too. I’m sure it does great for when you have guests to impress 🙂

And now, the Detox Soup.

Another friend of mine and coincidentally, an ex-school mate from the same school, Meghna, suggested I try the Itsu 7 Vegetable Detox soup. But because I don’t live close by, I couldn’t get my hands on it. Instead, I googled it, got an idea of what the basic ingredients were and then I simply improvised!

So the 7 vegetables you need are: Beans, bean sprouts, spinach, carrots, red bell pepper, mushrooms and coconut (though this isn’t technically a vegetable, it is used such in the recipe. I used it in coconut milk form)

You will also need:
Lime juice
Ginger juice (or you can use ground powder if its more convenient)
Salt to taste
Water, ofcourse
Glass noodles (I didn’t include these in my recipe

What to do:

Chop vegetables and keep aside.
In a large pot, boil 1 part coconut milk and 2 parts water. Add lime and ginger juice to it.
Now put in all the cut vegetables and boil till they are cooked. Add salt. Done!

Simple and fast. The best thing I like about it is that I dont have to use any oil or butter for it!

Hope you enjoy them as much as I did.
2 Responses to “Detox Vegetable Soup and Crunchy Mixed Salad”

  1. m April 10, 2011 at 5:31 am #

    you made it! i wouldn’t know what to do with seven vegetables. but am going to try your recipe!

  2. Mary July 6, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Does anybody have the recipe for Itsu’s 7 veg detox soup?

Leave a Reply

