Day 3: Cold Turkey

7 Apr

Its day 3, and already I’m feeling the pangs. From time to time, I have to remind myself to breathe, and think about what a positive detox my body is going through… (#%$*&^*%#)

Anyway, so this morning, I decided to try my first Immitation Meat product. These are basically “Smok Ham Styled slices” which are supposed to be great with salads and sandwiches and are rich in proteins and what not. But who cares, right? Do they taste like smoky Ham at all?

The answer is: Yes. They have got the taste right. Its smoky. Its Ham-y.

But, what they don’t get is the texture. And I guess this is the problem with most imitation meats. They lack the bite.

I slapped a slice of Smoky Ham styled salami with a slice of Edam cheese and some lettuce on my Whole Grain bread (that I’m very proud about purchasing) which I got to slice with my teeny little kitchen knife (albeit a bit difficult)  which I then sprinkled with some chilli flakes and Italian seasoning.

Great. Filling, wholesome, healthy. I was happy.

In other news, I also tried Sunpat Creamy Peanut Butter, and let me tell you, I have not been more disappointed. All salt and no sugar, makes this peanut butter  a dull spread.

I long for Skippy’s PB that I used to have as a kid(anyone remember Skippy’s?)


Leave a Reply

