The 9 day All-Vegetarian Challenge

5 Apr

Yesterday was my New Year (Gudi Padwa) and also the beginning of the Chotti Navratri (which literally means 9 nights). As a self-made decision, I have decided to go All-Vegetarian for these nine days (4th April – 13th April).  And this includes eggs.

Back home in India, this would’ve been a cake walk because let’s admit it, most households don’t eat that much non-vegetarian food on a regular basis anyway. Plus, there’s a huge variety of wholesome meals, fast-food and snack food, that is cheap and readily available.

I have to confess that I will miss biting into that juicy piece of meat once in a while (after all there is a total of 27 meals I have to go through) but on the bright side, its a great excuse to discover some amazing vegetarian recipes and give them their rightful due (as a bonus, it’ll be great to know that I have some will power too)!

To up the stakes, I also decided to go off Chocolate and Alcohol.

Prep:

So as not to be altogether as sea, I’ve prepped myself with some stuff that I’m going to work with these nine days:

Bread          Peanut Butter          Honey

Spaghetti       Potatoes              Salad leaves

Feta Cheese    Lettuce               Brown rice

Roti                   Lentils                 Edam Cheese slices

Fruit                 Custard mix

And finally, some Imitation meat, that I’m dying to try and review!

 

In the next few days I’ll be sharing with you my trials and tribulations and hopefully some yummy planned (and accidental) vegetarian recipes.

Wish me luck!

7 Responses to “The 9 day All-Vegetarian Challenge”

  1. Shoe April 5, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    So no Irish Cream chocolate for nine days?!

    • seasonsingredients April 5, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

      I guess not 😦 but you guys are welcoming to go ahead without me.

  2. Anjuly April 5, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Good luck. Sounds like a noble endeavour. I do wish to disagree with the ‘most households don’t eat that much non-vegetarian food on a regular basis anyway’ part of it. I grew up on meat, meat and more meat.

    • seasonsingredients April 5, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

      Speaking of which, I found this on Wiki:
      According to the 2006 Hindu-CNN-IBN State of the Nation Survey[10], 31% of Indians are vegetarians, while another 9% consumes eggs. Among the various communities, vegetarianism was most common among Jains, Brahmins at 55%, and less frequent among Muslims (3%) and residents of coastal states respectively. Other surveys cited by FAO,[11] and USDA[12][13] estimate 20%–42% of the Indian population as being vegetarian. These surveys indicate that even Indians who do eat meat, do so infrequently, with less than 30% consuming it regularly.

      • Anjuly April 6, 2011 at 2:36 am #

        Wow. Our family must be a really rare species then 🙂 I can’t remember a single meal (except breakfast) without a non-veg dish.

  3. m April 6, 2011 at 2:27 am #

    Itsu seven vegetable detox soup is all I have to say

Leave a Reply

