England’s own Chikki!

18 Jan

So my friend who went to Bath recently, got me this candy from there called ‘Peanut Brittle’. Now, what I expected was some fancy-shmancy thing like roasted peanut paste, mixed with praline, on a stick or something. And what do I see? Its Chikki!! Haha. I couldn’t believe my eyes! One down for Lonavala I thought (for those of you don’t know what Lonavala is, its a hill station close to Mumbai in India, that produces the same Peanut Candy and is famous for it).

 

But I couldn’t have been completely convinced till I tried it. And Guess what? It IS Chikki! Although, I have to say, the peanuts taste much better, probably because they’re better roasted.

Turns out Brazil also has the same sweet and there they call it Pé-de-moleque. Ha. Who would’ve known there was so much food-integration all over the world!

 

2 Responses to “England’s own Chikki!”

  1. Shoe January 18, 2011 at 5:58 am #

    Apparently you can make it quite easily, as long as you are careful not to burn yourself with the boiling caramel!

  2. shriya January 18, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Yep. Caramel reminds me, I should make caramel custard soon.

Leave a Reply

