Curryied Prawns – Ek (one)

12 Dec

Let’s just say I enjoy fish and prawns more than I do meat. I come from Mumbai, a coastal city in India, and sea food has been a very consistent and enjoyable part of my life. I can still remember the first time I ate mussels prepared in masala or eating pompfret curry with basmati rice on Sunday mornings. Most sea food there is prepared either in the Malwani tradition or the Konkani tradition. Its usually quite spicy and hot, with a heavy use of coconut and sometimes rice flour (if it is being fried, eg. Bombay Duck fritters).

The other day as I was walking through Tesco, I happened to pass by the sea-food section, and was immediately drawn to it. Yes, I do enjoy eating fish-and-chips, but honestly, I was craving for that spicy,pungent and tingling sensation on my tongue that comes with seafood preparations at home.

Call it coincidence or whatever you want, but the same day I bumped into my flatmate’s friend who was making her version of Prawn curry. The recipe was Thai, but surprisingly, a lot of the ingredients were quite similar to mine and it tasted divine!

So here is me giving you two recipes to prawn curry. The first part is Thai. The second, i.e. my next post, will give you the Malwani recipe to prawn curry.

Thai Prawn Curry

What you need:

1 stick of lemon grass, roughly chopped

1 medium sized onion, finely chopped

2 tbsp lime juice

200 gm small sized prawns (for this recipe I used shelled and pre-cooked ones)

2-3 red chillies, sliced

100 gms shitake mushrooms (if its difficult to measure, then just take about 4 or 5 large ones), sliced

100 gms corriander, chopped

3 cups water

1 cup coconut milk

Salt to taste

What to do:

In a medium sized pot, add water, onions and lemon grass.

In a bowl, soak the prawns in lemon juice. This will serve two purposes – one, it will take away the excessive salinity in the taste, and second, it will add to the pungency of the curry later on. Keep aside for a few minutes.

Once the water comes to a boil, add the prawns and simmer for 5 minutes.

Now add the coconut milk and simmer for another five minutes.

Add mushrooms and stir. Let simmer for 3 minutes. Once the mixture reaches a thick-ish consistency, add half the red chillies. And add salt.

Almost there!

Now top it with coriander and the remaining red chillies, for garnish. Serve hot!

 

One Response to “Curryied Prawns – Ek (one)”

  1. Shoe December 15, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    Apart from the fact that I would be killed by the prawns, it looks really tasty!!

Leave a Reply

