‘Betrayal’ or ‘How I Surrendered to A Fast Food Chain’

7 Dec

I am not one for multinational corporations and fast-food chains. I don’t go to McDonalds or KFC every week, or every month or every two months. I can’t stand the notion of making food/drinks on a mass scale, with no personal touch or feeling, serving the same number of variants, one customer after the next. And most of all, I hate the word “fast”.

But here I am. A so-called anti-establishment foodie, on my knees going gaga over their junk as they lure me in. And the only reason that is, is Starbucks Christmas Coffee. The first time I heard my friend going on about the “amazing flavours” and “christmas cups”, I was very doubtful. It’s very hard to convert me. And so I took it with a pinch of salt. How can that coffee compete with a precious little cafe with a mamma spooning her love into the blend as she pours me a mug?

But I went. And I tried it. And now I’m hooked. I dream about it every day (much to my shame, I have to admit.) Even as I write this, the thought that my post is going to add to their internet hits is kind of killing me. But I thought it was time to come out of the closet.

I love Starbucks Christmas Coffee – Gingerbread Latte and Peppermint Mocha with whipped cream being my favourite. There. I said it.

The devil's own coffee.

2 Responses to “‘Betrayal’ or ‘How I Surrendered to A Fast Food Chain’”

  1. Shoe December 8, 2010 at 3:43 am #

    You’re very welcome 😛 Look at that picture! The only devilish thing about it are the whipped cream calories!!

  2. NyTyne December 9, 2010 at 4:49 am #

    Where’s the picture of the christmas cups ?

Leave a Reply

