The right food for your mood

20 Jul

It is undeniable that comfort food – fatty, starchy, salty or sweet food can actually make you feel “loved” when you’re down and out. God knows I’m a lover of McDonalds fries and endless spoons of Nutella myself.

But for a change, here’s me giving a chance to Soup: Its tasty, wholesome and most importantly, comforting without making you feel like a sloth/garbage can (which is usually the feeling half an hour after the binge).

I made a really simple soup last night, which left me feeling full and satisfied, both spiritually and physically 🙂 Its called ‘Greens, White Bean and Barley Soup’. I served it with garlic toast which also I made at home.

I got the recipe from a book called ‘Favourite brand name Vegetarian Cooking’. I believe this book is available on Amazon.com. It was given to me as a gift, so I’m not sure if its available in book stores here.

Because I didn’t have all the ingredients, I substituted some and completely left out others. Here’s my version of the recipe-

What you need:

2 carrots, peeled and chopped into quaters

2 tbsp olive oil

2 small onions, finely chopped

4 cloves of garlic, minced

2 cups of sliced button mushrooms

6 cups of vegetable stock

1 cup of boiled black-eyed beans (chowli)

2 bay leaves (tejpatta)

1 tsp sugar

1 tbsp salt

1 tsp dried thyme leaves / thyme seasoning

1 cup spinach leaves, chopped and boiled

1 tbsp white vinegar

1 tsp chilli powder

Red bell pepper strips for garnish

What to do:

In a wok (or kadhai), heat the olive oil and add the onion and garlic. Stir for 2 minutes. Add the carrots and stir for about 3 minutes. Add the mushrooms, cook and stir until mushrooms are tender.

Add the stock, bay leaves and thyme. Bring to a boil over high heat. Lower the heat, cover and simmer for 10 minutes . Add the beans, spinach and sugar. Cover and let simmer for another 5 minutes. Add salt and chilli powder.

Garnish if desired.

Makes 8 (1 1/4 cup) servings.

2 Responses to “The right food for your mood”

  1. Tania Dey July 20, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    ahh you made the veg stock ? I’m struggling to make a good chicken stock for months now.

    • seasonsingredients July 20, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

      I have to run now, but i’ll definitely send you some chicken stock recipes. Continental or asian?

Leave a Reply

